Loquat tree

For the past few months I’ve been filling various vases with these large, sturdy and very long-lasting leaves from a tree in my backyard. To be honest, I had no idea what the tree was.

And suddenly one day I went out back and there was fruit on the tree. Not so much as it’s a gold mine, as it is- a gold mine. Loquats!


Loquats and a Mountain Bird” by anonymous Chinese artist of the Southern Song Dynasty

First, I filled the tiny vase with the loquat trimmings..

And today I added the clippings to some Craspedia and Bottle Brush (I happened upon on a rainy stroll) for a more composed look. I’m quite fond of this little arrangement I must say. You can also guarantee I will be taking more snips from the tree to use at work for morning galettes.

Leave a Reply

