Changing of the leaves

There is a saying  in Texas: “If you don’t like the weather, wait a minute and it’ll change.”

It is not uncommon for it to be in the high 80’s one day and a few days later it might snow. True story.

It is December, and last week we had some ‘winter’ weather. If you consider 30’s at night and high 50’s during the day, winter weather. Honestly, after living in the Bay for a few years it felt like just another day. Around these parts it means people immediately go shopping for sweaters, or pull out their winter clothes from storage. Yes, I have been wearing a scarf, it has been slightly chilly before 6 a.m. But today, what do you know, it is 79 degrees and I’m wearing shorts.

With the weather being so indecisive, we are still enjoying produce like tomatoes and spinach this late in the year. The trees are also changing colors. It looks like Fall. It is just beautiful.

I literally stopped (my bike) in my tracks when I saw this incredible tree today. Its leaves dripping with yellow, beckoning me to stop and clip some trimmings from it. Lucky for me it exists in yet another vacant lot, so I casually took a few branches that were hanging low to the ground. Casually.

There are tiny clusters at the end of the branches that look very much like Tallow berry but grey instead of white.
I arranged the branches in my white vase and set it in the kitchen. Works well against the yellow walls and matches perfectly with the squash.

Yellow in December. Why not?

Leave a Reply

