Lantana

Benefits of walking through any neighborhood: noticing the tiny joys of nature not normally noticed when behind the wheel of a speeding car. And then there’s walking off your lunch (very important).

Yesterday I made my way from Revival Market, belly full with a delicious pulled pork pressed sandwich with sweet pickles, and an out-of-this-world amazing moon pie made by Fluff Bake Bar. I have to admit, it was a great lunch.

Strolling back to my destination I noticed these beautiful orange berries hanging against a public fence. Wild Lantana covered the ground. Lantana is a favorite flower. It is both delicate and hearty, growing really well in Texas’ un-forgiving and blistering temperatures. It is native to tropical regions of the ‘Americas’ and ‘Africa’ which is no surprise as to why it flourishes so well in Texas. A bit of trivia new to me, is that it is known as ‘ham and eggs’, because of the pink and yellow flower clusters.

I took the opportunity to begin and impromptu flower arranging session, street side. Would you believe not one person noticed what I was doing? They might have been driving too fast…

I arranged this wild Texas bouquet in an empty Topo Chico bottle. I just love the way it looks styled against a colorful background of sidewalk art by my two famed nephews. They are budding artists, among other things.

Leave a Reply

