Leftovers

floating zinnias and marigolds

One of the perks of working in the flower industry is leftovers. Sometimes you end up with more flowers than you need. This is both a good thing and an unfortunate thing. There may be leftovers from a business account, from a special function or even a beautiful wedding. Such was the case last weekend when I was happy to come home with some leftovers. It’s not often that this happens after a wedding, but when it does occur I’m certainly thankful to help out with the clean-up.

Last weekend I assisted with two weddings, designed by a wonderful and brilliant floral designer I work with often. One wedding was held at Headlands Center for the Arts, which is right past the Golden Gate bridge on the north side. It is a lovely and remarkable space.

Here’s what I did with some of the leftover flowers.

Image above of floating flowers: It’s common for zinnias and marigolds to become detached from their stems. I love floating flowers even just for a temporary moment of brightness.

I combined a marigold, a bit of thistle and a few stems of bachelor’s button (vada mulla) with a big orange and small cherry-colored dahlias (from Thursday Farmer’s market).

A single marigold head fits perfectly in a candle holder.

Hanging on to thistle. I love using empty wine bottles (in this case Lava Vine port)

to host random stems.

Delicious smelling roses (still going strong) with more thistle in a Bodum French press single cup. Enjoying this beauty in my office.

I also ended up with a few stems of purple Vanda orchids ( a personal favorite). I paired them with orange orchids (from Headlands wedding) and existing backyard succulent (in need of company).

I also paired the same purple and orange couple with a very large backyard succulent and more of the fuchsia-colored bachelor’s buttons.

The bright colors are a much-needed lift to lingering Summer fog…

Feels like ‘Summer’ inside minus the triple digits.

2 thoughts on “Leftovers

  1. Beautiful. You are so talented.

    Do you find that particular wine labels go better with particular flowers?

    Do the colors on the wine labels matter?

    How do you choose which wine bottles to use?

    Stanley

    • Thanks for the comment Mr. Prada, I mean Gucci. I like to use wine bottles that I’ve saved for various reasons, usually because I liked the wine.

      But you’ve given me and idea. Hmm. maybe I’ll wrangle up a bottle of Sutter home and put something fabulous in the bottle.

Leave a Reply

