Smokebush and King Protea

I’ve been covering the account of a very talented floral designer and friend, who recently had an unfortunate foot accident. Though she has limited walking abilities she still has managed to produce some beautiful weddings and events recently. She is truly amazing! And while she continues to rest and heal, I’ve been delighted to be apart of the floral installations at one of her weekly accounts. The account is for all three of the Samovar tea lounges in San Francisco. Each space is a delight to be and work in, and let me just mention that I am now one of the many officially hooked on one of their signature teas. It is called Green Ecstasy and it is pure bliss, as in literally. It was also set you back 14$ for a cup and 45$ for a box. If I could drink this daily, you can bet I would. I highly recommend Samovar as a place to sit quietly with a book (no WI-FI here), enjoy the company of a friend and enjoy some amazing fresh food and wonderful tea blends.

The designer does the ordering and I pick them up at the SF Flower market. I’ve used Smokebush/Cotinus before as a filler in arrangements, but never have I seen it fluffy and in full bloom. It looks like a giant dark purple cloud that one can’t help touching. I also choose some green ‘pond rods’ to add to the arrangement.

Here is the arrangement at the Yerba Buena location.

Another view of Smokebush at the Zen Valley location.

The previous week it was all about King Protea with an accent of a type of blooming Bromeliad.

Leave a Reply

