Wild & Wooly

This week I was honored and delighted for the chance to cover a few floral accounts, belonging to a fabulous designer I assist.
This involved a very early visit to the San Francisco Flower Market, which is just one of the wonderful perks of the job. I was a little skeptical about my ability to choose flowers before 7 a.m. I sometimes also feel this way about holding sharp objects before 7 a.m. But as a professional, I downed my hot black tea, spiked with a little almond milk, and began the flower selection.
The Market is just beyond amazing, and it is very easy to get lost in the bounty available.
I spotted a few bunches of red Scabiosa, so used that as the base of my palette. It was easy to build on this, by adding a bunch of fragrant Geranium leaves and a few stems of  Red-Yellow Pincushion Protea. The Protea are so special, as they are even a little fuzzy. Nice compliment to the soft leaves of Geranium, which are so clean and fresh smelling. The smell reminds me of menthol. To complete, I added a few strands of stray Eucalyptus to the lower left side of arrangement.

This is one of my new favorite compositions.

Leave a Reply

