Poppies

I stopped off at the  super Target on the way to Berkeley a few weeks ago. This store  is 2 stories high and is one of the largest Target stores I’ve seen. Targets aren’t even this big in Texas (where everything is Big) and it has a Garden Center which I was really excited to become acquainted with. Icelandic Poppy plants were only $2.99 so subsequently I bought a multi-colored one, you know to go with the black flats I was also getting.

The plant had been doing quite well on the front porch, until one morning I discovered it had been flattened a bit. Either wind, rain, or possible an animal and its kin had leveled a section of the plant snapping the already delicate stems into pieces.

I salvaged the situation by floating the one of the beautiful flower heads in water. It lasted for about a week.

Leave a Reply

